Goal setting.

achieve

Goals are very important to us as human beings.

They allow us to achieve something. Feel accomplished. Feel awesome.

If you’ve ever done something that you set out to do, and DID it, you probably felt pretttty darn good afterwards.

When we set goals for ourselves, it puts us in a certain motion. We are moving/propelling ourselves forward and striving for a better day, a better us- and when we decide to do this, the Universe sends us exactly what we need; things that may even surprise us. You could start out with the goal ‘to feel and be more alert’ and have that manifest into ‘place in the top 50 in my first marathon’.

I’ve noticed that sometimes when I make goals, in the end I don’t actually complete my initial goal. Instead, my goals shift or transform into something bigger and better. It’s like making the initial goal that it catalysts for us into something greater. That’s why we always need to be setting something good for us to strive for. It continually will make us better and better.

They also may reveal something new about ourselves. Maybe you like to watch pro-wrestling. So much that you believe you want to BE a pro-wrestler. You sign up for classes, are super stoked, but then you get to your first lesson, get choke slammed, and realize ‘mayyybe this isn’t quite for me.’ The good part about this? Realizing that pro-wrestling isn’t your dream. You could have continued life wondering how sweet of a wrestler you could have been, and that sense of not knowing can wear on a person. Goals help us get to a point we want to be at. After we get to that point, our interests, things about us, and things we want will change along the way and that is part of life. This gives us clarity about ourselves and what we truly want and from clarity can come action.

But one thing to keep in mind with goals is “the difference between a goal and a dream is a deadline.” – Steve Smith

We need to set deadlines to meet our goals or how else will we ever reach them?

Right now, the goal that I’ve set for myself is to finally have the body I’ve always wanted. I want a toned, mildly defined, strong body. I know I can do it and I’m going to achieve it by March. I feel like when I set goals for myself like this, the Universe puts on a GO BRITTANY hat and waves flags around to help me get there, because somehow, I always do.

Don’t get discouraged if you begin to realize that everything you start doesn’t follow through because you aren’t as interested as you thought. It’s okay. I am right there with you. You wouldn’t believe how many times Brandon rolls his eyes when I tell him about my next “big” thing haha. But you know what? I don’t care because I am discovering myself. Thomas Edison said: “I have not failed. I’ve just found 10,000 ways that won’t work.” REMEMBER THIS!

Believe in yourself and remember you are the only one you will always have. Never let yourself down and always strive for a better you. Be accountable for yourself and your actions and don’t let anyone hold you back. Invest in yourself and others will invest in you.

Set your goals in play, make steps towards it, and see what happens!

Operating@Alpha,
Brittany

Leave a Reply

