Should?

“Don’t should all over yourself.”

This is a play-on-words phrase in the personal development field that has deep meaning behind it. I know you see the play that is going on here, but what exactly does this phrase mean?

Everyday we throw around the word ‘should’. “I should do the laundry”, “I should take out the trash”, “I shouldn’t eat this chocolate”. Who is dictating to us that we ‘should’ or ‘shouldn’t’ do these things? Shouldn’t we be the ones making decisions for ourselves?

Well it’s simple. When we use the word ‘should’, we use it in a way that disallows us from being the ones in control and makes us feel ashamed/lazy of the task at hand.

Imagine this: You’re on a diet. You’ve been doing so good maintaining your regimen, but you have a craving. A craving for chocolate. You pick up a piece and are looking at it thinking “I shouldn’t eat this chocolate… I shouldn’t eat this chocolate…” but what usually happens? You eat the chocolate. Why does this happen? Well unless you have strong WILL power, you will probably break under the temptation.

Instead of eating the chocolate, you put it down and said “No, I will not eat this chocolate.”

How empowering is that?! You are not only giving yourself  your personal power back in making this decision, but you are also letting that chocolate know it is not the boss of you :)! IT will not dictate YOUR actions. YOU WILL. In this simple shift of changing ‘should’ to ‘will’ we take back the control of our actions and our power. We are exercising our free will and our ability to make decisions for ourselves.

Our words have deeper meaning than what we just say on the surface. What we say can have huge impact on how we think, feel, and act. Make this tiny shift in your life and feel the difference.

O@A,
Brittany

34 responses to “Should?

  1. Thanks for taking this opportunity to mention this, I’m strongly about it and I benefit from garden greenhouse structures this subject. When possible, when you gain data, please update this website with new information. I have found it extremely useful.

  2. Oh my goodness! Awesome article dude! Many thanks, However
    I am going through difficulties with your RSS.
    I don’t understand why I cannot subscribe to it. Is there anyone else having identical RSS problems? Anyone that knows the solution can you kindly respond? Thanx!!

  3. Pretty section of content. I just stumbled upon your site
    and in accession capital to assert that I get in
    fact enjoyed account your blog posts. Anyway I’ll be subscribing to your feeds and even I achievement you access consistently quickly.

  4. Have you ever considered writing an ebook or guest authoring on
    other websites? I have a blog based upon on the same topics you discuss and would really like to have you share some stories/information.
    I know my audience would appreciate your work.
    If you are even remotely interested, feel free to shoot me
    an e-mail.

    • To be honest, I have thought about it! I actually was published as a guest author on FinerMinds! I have a post about it on here. I’ll send you an email about it for sure! Thanks for reading!

  5. Hey there! Would you mind if I share your blog with my zynga
    group? There’s a lot of people that I think would really appreciate your content. Please let me know. Cheers

  6. I was curious if you ever considered changing the page layout
    of your blog? Its very well written; I love what youve
    got to say. But maybe you could a little more in the way of
    content so people could connect with it better. Youve got an awful lot of text for only having 1 or 2 images.
    Maybe you could space it out better?

    • Hi Parliament, thanks for your comment! Next time I post a heavy hitting content filled one, I will take your suggestions into consideration! I know it can be a lot sometimes 🙂

  7. Hey there! I understand this is kind of off-topic however I had to ask.
    Does operating a well-established blog such as yours require a large amount of work?
    I am brand new to operating a blog but I do write
    in my journal on a daily basis. I’d like to start a blog so I can easily share my own experience and views online. Please let me know if you have any kind of recommendations or tips for brand new aspiring blog owners. Appreciate it!

    • Hi Elisabeth! I totally encourage that you start a blog! Journaling is how I got started also and I decided that even if no one saw my blog, I was going to always post my thoughts, feelings, and experiences no matter what! It does not take a large amount of work. The only work that it really takes is developing the content, but if you journal every day I am sure you have loads of material 🙂 WordPress I feel is the easiest blog platform to begin on and has many beautiful layouts. Drop me a line when you get yours up and going!

  8. I simply want to tell you that I am all new to weblog and honestly savored your blog. Most likely I’m want to bookmark your website . You actually come with outstanding posts. Many thanks for sharing your web-site.

  9. I just want to tell you that I am just very new to weblog and honestly savored this web blog. Probably I’m going to bookmark your blog . You actually have amazing well written articles. Cheers for sharing with us your blog site.

  10. Its good as your other articles : D, appreciate it for putting up. “Too much sensibility creates unhappiness too much insensibility leads to crime.” by Charles Maurice de Talleyrand.

  11. After I originally left a comment I seem to have clicked the -Notify me when new comments are added- checkbox and now whenever a comment is added I receive 4 emails with the exact same comment. Perhaps there is a way you are able to remove me from that service? Cheers!

Leave a Reply

