Showing up.

Sometimes I feel a little discouraged when I log on to AlMe.

I really put a lot of thought, effort, and emotion into the things I write about, and sometimes it sucks when I see that no one leaves a comment or anything.

Granted, I do get to see all the page views (which totally excite me either way), but seeing all the ‘leave a comment’s on every post, does make me feel some type of way.

But I’ve decided.

I’ve decided that no matter what happens, I am going to keep doing this. I love sharing the life lessons that I’ve learned and take heart in knowing that maybe one day, my words will shed light on some situation in your life also. I love AlMe and I love writing on here about things that interest me as well as my providing helpful reviews on personal development programs out there, no matter who comments on it.

This is a little something called ‘showing up’.

I read something very insightful today from The Daily Love  that explains the difference between pros and amateurs. And the key difference is SHOWING UP.

To sum it up: Being a pro means you show up to what you want to accomplish everyday. Whether that’s being a writer, yoga teacher, whatever, if you don’t show up for it everyday, you are merely an amateur. Amateurs create when they want or when they feel inspired, but pros don’t wait around for anything, they just DO IT. Even if it’s only writing for 20 minutes a day, you are still showing up to your passion, despite if you have anything meaningful to say or not.

Not everything we create is going to be our best work, but the point is to never stop or show up when we feel like. If it is something we are truly passionate about, we must nurture it and keep our drive in full gear.

This is how I feel about AlMe. Even though I don’t have a million (or even 50) subscribers or really any kind of confirmation that anyone is actually reading what I write, I still show up to post (multiple times) every week and provide thoughtful content, as well as comment on other positivity related blogs and articles everyday. And you know what, I love it.

I never thought of myself as a writer, or dreamt that I’d write a book, but if it’s anything like blogging (which I’m sure it is) then I will make it a point to continue to show up, and if I discover that I am capable of being a published writer just from the love of my blog, then hey, why the hell not. Showing up to something we love, even if this something lasts a month or a year, allows other wonderful passions to manifest.

My ultimate goal is to motivate, inspire, and encourage people that we can all have the lives we dream of. And if accomplishing that goal starts here at AlMe, then you can bet I won’t be stopping anytime soon :).

O@A,
Brittany

8 responses to “Showing up.

  1. I know exactly what you’re saying and have actually been thinking similar thoughts lately. Funny how we need the likes/comments to feel like we’re doing a good job, (maybe just speaking for me, here). But, I like what you shared, about the difference between amateurs and pros. I’ll have to remind myself that on the days where public reinforcement feels too important 😉 Thanks for the thought-provoking post.

      • Haha, that’s probably healthier– I’m afraid I go through phases of internet addiction where I need some sort of reinforcement from the outside world. When I fluctuate between my blog getting attention and not it makes me worry I’ve lost some sort of magic 😉

  2. I haven’t checked in here for a while since I thought it was getting boring, but the last few posts are great quality so I guess I will add you back to my daily bloglist. You deserve it my friend 🙂

  3. Pingback: My Exciting News! | alphameditate·

  4. In the great scheme of things you receive an A+ with regard to effort and hard work. Where exactly you actually lost me ended up being on your facts. As people say, details make or break the argument.. And it couldn’t be much more correct right here. Having said that, let me reveal to you just what did give good results. The article (parts of it) can be really powerful and this is most likely the reason why I am taking the effort in order to comment. I do not make it a regular habit of doing that. Second, despite the fact that I can easily notice the jumps in logic you come up with, I am not certain of just how you seem to connect the ideas that produce your conclusion. For right now I will subscribe to your position but wish in the foreseeable future you link the dots much better.

    • Thank you for taking the time to write such a well thought out comment! I’m definitely not an expert, but I am honest in the positions that I write from :). Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

