When does change happen?

Not overnight, that’s for sure.

There comes a point in time where every one of us wants change. Whether that is change within ourself or in the world, regardless, change is a part of life.

From the media and society, change really gets a bad rep. From phrases like “people never change” to people looking at you and saying “..you’ve changed…”, it’s hard to see the plus side of changing.

But change is good. We need to change in order to grow. Of course change can be negative if you become like a drug addict and before you were once a wholesome person, but that isn’t what we are talking about.

I was inspired to write about this after reading a good post from The Daily Mind on the Law of Attraction in which the author, Mollie, talks about why this law works so well for her. She touched on a great point that in order for the law to work, you need to give it time to work. And that some of the time we think we need something, but turns out to be something we just want instead. The Universe provides when we need it.

If you want to change, you need to first decide exactly what outcome you want at the end of it.

For example, I wanted to improve my communication skills. I felt that every time I would say something to someone, they would misinterpret or not get what I was saying. To fix this, I created the affirmation “I speak clearly and communicate effectively”. Sure enough, I began to notice there were less miscommunications.

Granted this fix didn’t completely happen overnight. However, I did begin to notice the change that day, but there were still instances where I would say a fumbled sentence or two, but surely day after day I progressively kept getting better and better.

For a more difficult example like overcoming jealousy or something, we need to really pay attention to the day-to-day accomplishments to build up our momentum to fully changing. Habits like these end up being formed over a long period time, so we need to be patient with ourselves and celebrate each of our victories.

We need to give time for these new habits to set in. Complete change does not happen overnight. After we send our good feelings and intentions to the Universe, we need to sit back, relax, and let the Universe take the steering wheel. The Universe is always listening, and just because you don’t get what you ask for now, it doesn’t mean it won’t ever happen 🙂

Operating @ Alpha,
Brittany

3 responses to “When does change happen?

  1. Brittany: You are absolutely right that change does not happen overnight. Plus, I also believe that nothing good happens overnight. I am learning to have more patience through constant meditation and practice. I have trouble speaking because of a stammer, but my therapist and I are working together for the best. I just have to remember that I have been speaking incorrectly my whole life so a change like that cannot happen overnight.
    My key to change is little by little.

    • How ironic that I use the example of speaking clearly and you comment telling me you have been working on a stammer. I hope you are finding the marvelous things that meditation can do for you. If your therapist hasn’t told you about affirmations already, I HIGHLY suggest you repeat a phrase like “I speak clearly and communicate effectively” next time you are in the meditative state. Also, it helps to visualize yourself speaking to someone without a stammer, or how you imagine. I promise you it will blow your mind! Keep me posted on your success 😀

  2. Pingback: Linking new habits with Goal setting | alphameditate·

Leave a Reply

